John's Arcade Forum - Classic Arcade and Pinball Collecting and Restoring Discussion Forum - RETRO MAME - Nintendo Vs Forum
March 29, 2024, 08:22:50 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the John's Arcade Forum. Glad you made it! Smiley

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mame cabinet philosophy  (Read 27298 times)
Chefgon

View Profile
« on: May 29, 2011, 06:44:50 pm »

I have a small single-player tabletop Mame cabinet that I really like. It runs on a cheap little Eee PC netbook that I picked up a few years ago for a couple hundred bucks, and since I'm a mild-mannered software developer by day I of course had to write my own custom front-end launcher software for it. It's not quite as flashy as some of the front-ends you can get online, but it has the benefit of looking and working exactly the way I wanted it to and it gives me some satisfaction to know my cabinet is one-of-a-kind.

Anyway, the question I have for you guys is about your approach to building a game list for a Mame cabinet. I've noticed that most Mame cabinets I've seen have people bragging about how many thousands of games they have loaded onto them. THOUSANDS! I don't think I've played a thousand games in my life, and I kind of doubt that there's that many games in existence that I would even like, let alone want a copy of in my living room.

On my cabinet I have a list of about 30 or so games that I really love and desire to play regularly. If there's a game on the list that I find I don't really want to play very often then I remove it. I like to keep my selection list neat and trim and completely devoid of games that I don't love. It's my Mame cabinet after all, and I like its game list to reflect my personal taste.