John's Arcade Forum - Classic Arcade and Pinball Collecting and Restoring Discussion Forum - RETRO MAME - Nintendo Vs Forum
March 28, 2024, 09:23:45 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the John's Arcade Forum. Glad you made it! Smiley

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Monitor has no color?  (Read 2844 times)
Sonnyrayj

View Profile
« on: October 20, 2017, 12:28:29 pm »

As stated in subject, I have a Hitachi monitor that has no color. K7500 chassis. I have done a little reflowing and repaired a few traces. I have never worked on a monitor before so complete newbie here. I have looked at how to check the transistors but still am confused on the correct way to do that. After going and buying me some more glasses so I could actually see I looked over the board and components again and found the flyback has a small crack right above the focus knob. Would that tell me that the flyback is absolutely bad and would it cause a no color issue or should I be focusing more on the caps and transistors first for the color issue. When I say no color I mean it's not just missing a color or 2 it displays in black and white. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to just be throwing money at it and my problem persist. Thanks
« Last Edit: October 26, 2017, 01:23:07 pm by Sonnyrayj » Logged
Ramair1997

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2017, 09:46:59 pm »

No color but a picture? Check the neck board, if the fly back is cracked you will hear a hiss or see arcing usually
Sonnyrayj

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2017, 01:59:41 pm »