John's Arcade Forum - Classic Arcade and Pinball Collecting and Restoring Discussion Forum - RETRO MAME - Nintendo Vs Forum
April 19, 2024, 12:16:57 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the John's Arcade Forum. Glad you made it! Smiley

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cabaret Tempest value?  (Read 1789 times)
shuyge

View Profile
« on: January 19, 2017, 12:43:15 pm »

Hi everybody!

So I'm new to the arcade collection scene and I'm trying to pick up some machines without breaking the bank or ending up on the minus side of things.

I've got a line on a Tempest Cabaret that appears to be in very good condition with only a small chip out of one of the sides by the control panel.  I've seen pictures of the game in operation so it does appear to be in working order.

I do know that they only made roughly 2000 of these but I don't really think that the cabaret is as desirable as the full-size stand-up.  I do know that this is supposed to have the same size monitor as the full-size though which should help the experience (and value).  I don't know if it has an LV2000 in it yet or not.  If not, I will put one in.  $35 to bullet proof the monitor is cheap insurance.

How much is this thing worth?  At what price would you feel comfortable buying this Tempest and feel that you could get (most of) your money back out of it.  I'm not going to try to put the screws to anybody, I'm just looking for what people feel is a fair price.

OrangePeel

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2017, 01:29:40 pm »

Use this website for pricing games, really good estimates.
http://www.arcade-classics.com/exidy_arcade_price_guide.html

For the tempest he says $650-800 for one in excellent shape.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2017, 01:31:39 pm by OrangePeel » Logged
shuyge

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2017, 07:00:03 pm »