John's Arcade Forum - Classic Arcade and Pinball Collecting and Restoring Discussion Forum - RETRO MAME - Nintendo Vs Forum
May 01, 2024, 07:07:50 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the John's Arcade Forum. Glad you made it! Smiley

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hey Everyone! afowlerart from St. Louis, MO  (Read 1993 times)
afowlerart

View Profile
« on: July 23, 2014, 09:53:45 am »

Just dropping by to introduce myself, I've just bought my first ever game cabinet (Street Fighter II: The World Warrior), and I came to this forum to get some tips on how to refurbish it. I refurbish electronis for a living, and fixing up this cabinet seemed like a fun exercise and possibly a way to make some extra cash (by either setting it up at a restaurant somewhere or just selling it). From the little bit that I've done to it, it's pretty fun, and I'd be interested in doing it again on another machine.

Take care!

Mr_Rampage

Arcade/Coin Op Inventor

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 10:33:23 am »

Hello, we will need pic's so we can see it for ourselves. Just easier than trying to describe it. Anyways welcome and we'll see what we can do to help.

True restoration is an art form. Like any good artist you have to know what your doing. Painting a single line on a canvas and calling it a masterpiece does not fly in restoring a arcade machine. Do it right
afowlerart

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 11:04:13 am »

Well, I'm looking to replace the control panel overlay, all the buttons and both joysticks. I'm getting most of that stuff from ebay. The main issue I going to have is with the wiring.