John's Arcade Forum - Classic Arcade and Pinball Collecting and Restoring Discussion Forum - RETRO MAME - Nintendo Vs Forum
May 16, 2024, 10:16:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the John's Arcade Forum. Glad you made it! Smiley

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Original Galaga :: Fixed PCB Now Controls Don't Respond...  (Read 12935 times)
tokyopunchout

View Profile
« on: July 14, 2014, 12:17:37 am »

First of all I'm new to all of this, so thanks in advance for taking it easy on me.

The skinny is that when plugged in and powered up - it makes the initial explosion game noise (which I'm guessing is normal), but the monitor never flickers on and the back tube has no glow at all. I've given it about an hour of being powered on to make sure I wasn't just being impatient - no dice. The sound seems to react when you push the Fire button, or the Player 1 / Player 2 buttons, but the sound struggles / is garbled.

Here's some pics of the monitor for reference (sorry some of the orientations are askew):

I should first say that I noticed a wad of electrical tape on the power cord:

So after I unplugged it I discovered that it seems all 3 parts of the cord had been completely severed at some point and then stripped enough to make a connection and twisted back together. As seen here:

I'm pretty sure something should be done about this - what do you guys suggest?