John's Arcade Forum - Classic Arcade and Pinball Collecting and Restoring Discussion Forum - RETRO MAME - Nintendo Vs Forum
May 03, 2024, 01:27:51 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to the John's Arcade Forum. Glad you made it! Smiley

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Top Questions to Ask to Determine Original Donkey Kong  (Read 3145 times)
DZA

View Profile
« on: February 05, 2013, 02:13:20 pm »

Hi,

I am a total newbie to classic arcade machines but recently I have become hooked. This coupled with my electrical engineering background and new house with plenty of room for an arcade has lead me to decide I am going to take the plunge and get started on my own home arcade.

A key issue to me is not the game itself per say (I can play emulated games all day on my computer) but rather the authenticity and history behind the games. Therefore a key to me that the game be as original as possible.

Therefore, my question is: what questions should I ask sellers to determine whether or not a is original? In particular I am more interested in the electronic components not the cabinet as much (although cabinet based responses would be great too).

Thanks!

DZA
jtdollard

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2013, 02:46:52 pm »

Real DK board sets are going to be a 4 board stack or a 2 board stack. The Monitor will most likely be a Sanyo 20EZ there will be a 100v transformer in the bottom of the cab to supply power for the monitor and marque light.
DZA

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 04:55:37 pm »

Thanks.

Along these lines, what original equipment is more difficult to find for (generically speaking). For example are power supplies rare? Monitors? Etc. Basically I want to know if I get a machine, what will be hard to find later.

Also, what original parts are the most prone to failure in your experience?
jtdollard

View Profile